Annual Festival of Arts is Saturday, April 14 at UW-Washington County | By Joan Rudnitzki


April 13, 2018 – Washington Co., WI – There will be much more to see on the UW-Washington County campus than students, textbooks and laptops on Saturday, April 14. The annual Festival of Arts will take place from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.  The daylong event includes a juried student art competition, “Socks and Rocks” – a  make-and-take workshop, live music all day by student and professional groups, a farmers’ market and the famous Artists Market Place, where one-of-a-kind original works in a wide variety of media from over 40 Wisconsin artists are available to purchase.

As part of the annual Festival of Arts, the second floor hallways have been decorated with over 400 pieces of exquisitely crafted artwork from the most promising art students representing 28 middle and high schools from a five county region.   Judging for the student art show has been completed with the High School Best of Show award going to Austin Fischer, a senior at Kewaskum High School whose submission is a photograph.  Middle School Best of Show has been awarded to Kelsey Wozniak, an 8th grade student at Menomonee Falls North Middle School.  A complete list of winners follows this release.





This year’s high school competition was judged by Graeme Reid, Director of Collections at the Museum of Wisconsin Art and Anna Moisiadis-Duran, art professor at UWWC.  Middle school judging was done by Lynn Molenda who has over 25 years of experience in middle school art education and UWWC’s own Josh Lesniak, art professor and head of the art department at UW-WC.

This year’s Festival of Arts proceeds go to support scholarships for UWWC students.  Admission is $2 for adults, $1 for students, and children under 12 are admitted free of charge.






Performances and visual art workshops are included in the price of admission.  The campus cafeteria Bistro on the Hill has expanded its menu for the event, with specialty items available only during the event. The UW-WC campus is located at 400 University Drive in West Bend. UWWC and the Washington County Campus Foundation are partnering to host this event. More information about the Festival of Arts can be found at



12:00 PM: The ceremony will be held in the campus theatre and include a slideshow of the winning entries. Special thanks to all the art educators who have provided instruction and inspiration to all the students who have submitted art this year. This year’s award winners include:







First Name Last Name School Category Place
Emma Gleed Cedarburg Painting 1
Natalie White West Bend West Painting 2
Michaela Carey Slinger Painting 3
Skyler Heller Mayville Painting 4
Grace Krahn Campbellsport Painting HM
Cindy Hinz Mayville Painting HM
Olivia Norquist Cedarburg Collage 1
Haley Stoltz West Bend East & West Collage 2
Anna Prahl West Bend East & West Collage 3
Brooke Adams Living Word-Jackson Collage 4
Hailey Brewer Campbellsport Collage HM
Eleri Extence West Bend East & West Collage HM
Austin Fischer Kewaskum Photography 1
Willow Adams Port Washington Photography 2
Aliya Rolenc Menomonee Falls Photography 3
Taylor Leis Menomonee Falls Photography 4
Nid Wanwanich Homestead Drawing 1
Rachel Robarde Slinger Drawing 2
Emily Ellenbecker Campbellsport Drawing 3
Maddie Tomashek Cedarburg Drawing 4
Jessica Umhoefer Slinger Drawing HM
Adrian Kopolovic Horicon Drawing HM
Sydney Donath Kewaskum 3-D 1
Stevie Bresser Homestead 3-D 2
Grace Rogers Cedarburg 3-D 3
Dylan Johnson Kewaskum 3-D 4
Olivia Iding Central Middle-Hartford Painting 1
Rhayne Vollendorf Campbellsport Painting 2
Paige Broker Central Middle-Hartford Painting 3
Lilly Roskopf Erin-Hartford Painting 4
Valerie Tuzhilkov Lake Shore-Mequon Painting HM
Jacob Buske St. Paul’s Lutheran-Grafton Painting HM
Bryanna Turner Kennedy – Germantown Painting HM
Bella Magee Steffan Middle-Mequon Collage 1
Braden Etzel Slinger Collage 2
Grace Viesselmann St. Paul’s Lutheran-Grafton Collage 3
Kelsea Ebert Campbellsport Collage 4
Amber Hust Mayville Collage HM
Samantha Alliet Silverbrook-West Bend Collage HM
Kelsey Wozniak Menomonee Falls North Middle Photography 1
Joseph Halbert Badger-West Bend Photography 2
Emily Hansen Menomonee Falls North Middle Photography 3
Mya Krebs Campbellsport Photography 4
Julia Totsky Menomonee Falls North Middle Photography HM
Ella Bussalichi Thomas Jefferson-Port Washington Drawing 1
Delaney Younglove Badger-West Bend Drawing 2
Joshua Robson Mayville Middle Drawing 3
Thalia Morillo Mayville Middle Drawing 4
Nya Sukawaty Thomas Jefferson-Port Washington Drawing HM
Lauren Ford Holy Trinity-Kewaskum Drawing HM
Brenton Mies Badger-West Bend 3-D 1
Brynn Bauer St. Frances Cabrini-West Bend 3-D 2
Ransym Shaw Central Middle-Hartford 3-D 3
Katie McArthur St. Frances Cabrini-West Bend 3-D 4
Audrey Greymont Webster Middle-Cedarburg 3-D HM
Anna Head Lake Shore Middle-Mequon 3-D HM
Lilly Cumper Campbellsport Middle 3-D HM+B1:F67







Participating high schools and art teachers include:

Campbellsport High School (Art teacher: L. Boehlke)

Cedarburg High School (Art teacher: Mortl, Behrs/Grisar)

Homestead High School (Art teachers: J. Hunt, K. Hustedde, K. Nowak)

Horicon High School (Art teacher: R. Shafer) Kewaskum High School (Art teachers: L. Ross, R. Hassler)

Living Word Lutheran High School, Jackson (Art teacher: H. Dechsner)

Mayville High School (Art teacher: S. Heideman)

Menomonee Falls High School (Art teacher: T. Chmielewski and C. Gonyer)

Port Washington High School (Art teacher: K. Feyereisen, P. Higgins, M. Styles)

Slinger High School (Art teacher: C. Graziano)

West Bend East & West High Schools (Art teachers: D. Prahl, J. Krueger)


Participating middle schools and art teachers include:

Badger Middle, West Bend (Art teachers: K. Welton)

Campbellsport Middle (Art teacher: E. Nelson)

Central Middle, Hartford (Art teacher: P. Brandt)

Erin School, Hartford (Art teacher: L. Schuler)





Holy Trinity, Kewaskum (Art teacher: A.Craig)

Kennedy Middle, Germantown (Art teacher: A. de Ruiz)

Lake Shore Middle, Mequon (Art teacher: M. Plamann)

Mayville Middle (Art teacher: J. Stortz)

North Middle, Menomonee Falls (Art teacher: B. McKendry, M.Mariscal)

St. Frances Cabrini, West Bend (Art teacher: D. Pettit)

St. Paul Lutheran, Grafton (Art teacher: D. Schumann)

Silverbrook Intermediate, West Bend (Art teachers: M. Bartelt)

Slinger Middle (Art teacher: G. Hefti)

Steffen Middle, Mequon (Art teacher: M. Plamann)

Thomas Jefferson Middle, Port Washington (Art teacher: S.Kultgen, N.Koenig)

Webster Middle, Cedarburg (Art Teacher: L.Olp)


Add Your Comment

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :