Three UW-WC professors receive Arthur M. Kaplan Award

Author: | Posted in Uncategorized No comments









Jan. 5, 2017 – West Bend, WI – Three UW-Washington County professors were chosen to receive an Arthur M. Kaplan Award for the 2016/17 academic year. They include: Dr. Mohan Thapa, Dr. Sandi Brunette-Hill, and Dr. Margaret Hamilton.
The announcement was made by Dr. Cathy Sandeen, UW Colleges and UW Extension Chancellor.

Assistant Professor of Mathematics, Mohan Thapa’s award was given for his enduring “dedication to student success.” From using 3-D technology to facilitate the mathematical connection in higher dimension to writing a book that he is currently testing in the classroom, Thapa’s dedication to teaching is in evidence. Actively involved in student clubs and committees on campus as well as his department and the UW Colleges, he is also busy coordinating the upcoming annual Pi day mathematics competition, “UW Colleges Integrator of the Year”

Professors Sandi Brunette- Hill (Sociology) and Margaret Hamilton (Psychology) were honored for their joint effort in developing an independent study course, “Rich Man, Poor Man.” The new and challenging interdisciplinary class will explore the topic of stratification through an innovative lens, that students are often not exposed to. It was noted that their “dedication and commitment to engaging students through high impact practices in work that delves deeply in important social issues is commendable.”

The Arthur M. Kaplan Award program was established to recognize outstanding contributions made to education by
UW Colleges faculty and academic staff. It pays tribute to the positive spirit that Provost and Vice Chancellor Emeritus, Arthur M. Kaplan contributed to enhance education at the UW Colleges. The Kaplan award is for $250, with matching funds awarded from the Washington County Campus Foundation.

UW-Washington County is located at 400 University Drive in West Bend. The spring semester begins Monday, January 23. For more information, about the campus or to meet with an advisor, visit or email [email protected]

Photos attached: Dr. Mohan Thapa, Dr. Margaret Hamilton, Dr. Sandi-Brunette-Hill

Add Your Comment

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :