Allenton Fire Department and Kenny Asselin of West Bend win Fire Safety Awards | By Ron Naab

March 1, 2021 – Washington Co., WI – The Allenton Volunteer Fire Department and Kenny Asselin from West Bend Fire Department were recently recognized by the Professional Fire Fighters of Wisconsin Charitable Foundation.

Professional Fire fighters of Wisconsin

Allenton Volunteer Fire Department won the Fire Safety Education Award  

The PFFWCF Larry Ceretto Fire Safety Education Award is awarded to a Fire Department whose commitment to fire safety has attained the high level of quality and integrity that had been the character of one of Wisconsin’s most admired in the fire service.

Larry Ceretto, retired Deputy Chief of the Milwaukee Fire Department, retired Milwaukee Area Technical College dean of the Fire Science Program and person of classic distinction.  His dedication to duty and loyalty to the missions of his commitments accentuate the core purpose of the Professional Fire Fighters of Wisconsin Charitable Foundation.

This year’s Larry Ceretto Fire Safety Award is presented to Allenton Fire Department.

Allenton does a lot of great work promoting fire safety in and around their community. From there pancake breakfast to their fire sprinkler demonstrations. They make a difference and save lives.

Horicon Bank ad

Kenny Asselin from West Bend Fire Department won the Dan Gengler Fire Sprinkler Advocacy Award:

This award is named after Dan Gengler, one of the founders of the Wisconsin Alliance for Fire Safety, a retired Deputy Chief with the Milwaukee Fire Department, and former North Central Regional Manager with the National Fire Sprinkler Association. Dan built much of the partnerships, programming, and just about everything we do today. He has not only made fire safety and fire sprinkler advocacy his life’s work, but his passion.

The Dan Gengler Fire Sprinkler Advocacy Award recognizes people and organizations for their work to advocate for and overcome the barriers to fire sprinklers.

This year’s Dan Gengler Fire Sprinkler Advocacy Award goes to Kenny Asselin. Kenny works tirelessly to promote and share information about fire and burn prevention and the importance of fire sprinklers as Captain of Fire Prevention with West Bend Fire Department, IAFF 5th District Burn Coordinator, and so much more.

Professional Fire Fighters of Wisconsin Charitable Foundation 23rd Annual Fire Safety Newspapers in Education 2020 Fire Safety Poster Contest Awards

2nd Grade

fire safety

3rd place – Jon Bruss, St John Lutheran, Berlin

2nd place – Alayna Heiden, Allenton Elementary, Allenton

1st place – Adam Darelius, St. Jacobi Lutheran School, Greenfield


fire safety 3rd Grade

3rd place – Brady VanHandel, St. John’s, Little Chute

2nd place – Ellie Vogelman, St. Matthews, Oak Creek

1st place – Grace Heus, St. Gabriel, Hubertus


fire safety4th Grade

3rd place – Ashlynn Dunn, St Gabriel, Hubertus

2nd place – Avery M, Wonewoc-Center Elementary, Wonewoc

1st place – Aidan Collins, St Gabriel, Hubertus


fire safety5th Grade

3rd place – Grace Parker, St. Gabriel, Hubertus

2nd place – Grant Rauls, Rio Elementary School, Rio

1st place – Shepherd Cook, Rio Elementary School, Rio

8th Grade

3rd place – Emma Braaksma, Cambria Friesland Middle School, Cambria

2nd place – Cassidy Klebsch, St. Gabriel, Hubertus

1st place – Mackenzie Roland, Our Saviors Lutheran, Wausau

Property loss management

Leave a Reply