Athletic Awards banquet at UWM at Washington County

May 7, 2019 – Washington Co., WI – Student athletes from UWM at Washington County were recognized Tuesday evening during the annual Athletic Awards Banquet.

A couple of the major award winners included:


Scholar Athlete – Meghan MacFarlane

In 1968 the WCC initiated the Scholar Athlete Award. Each campus would have one scholar athlete award. Scholar athlete is determined by the athletic board. Most important is academics, followed by athletics and finally campus and community involvement.




Pick Female Athlete – Meghan MacFarlane

Pick Male Athlete – Brody Jossart

Former athletic director Tom Brigham said MacFarlane qualifies as a good example of a scholar athlete.

“The three criteria she showed was excellence in academics, excellence in athletics and campus and community involvement,” said Brigham. “She is a fine young lady and the parents did a wonderful job as all the parents have done here.”

MacFarlane was a standout athlete in volleyball, basketball and tennis. MacFarlane is studying nursing and she will continue her education at UW-Milwaukee.

Coach and athletic director Deb Butschlick said MacFarlane leads by example and she has her priorities straight as a student athlete.

“She puts academics first,” said Butschlick. “She is far above a normal player. She can pick up any sport; she never played tennis before but she can excel in any sport.”

Brody Jossart was 2nd team all conference in soccer, soccer captain of the year, and men’s tennis he received the coaches award.

“Brody led by example and was always a pleasure to coach,” said Mitchell Bury.

“Brody is a dedicated student athlete and he’s been selected WCC all conference for two years in a row,” said Butschlick.


The Pick Family is the proud sponsor of the Female and Male Athlete of the Year awards. This year marks the 32nd anniversary of this award, which was started in 1988 and given annually to the outstanding female and male athletes at UWM-Washington County.

Soccer coached by Mitchell Bury.

Jack Blaski, Jacob Eichline, Lorik Fejzuli, Alex Fischer, Tommy Hess, Jakob Hrica, Timothy Jordan, Brody Jossart, Ryan McCarthy, Wender Prada, Antonio Pusateri, Zachary Ross, Matthew Schuppie, and Timothy Spitz.


Wildcat golf team played in two invites and the state tournament. Coach John Minz.

Kevin Albrecht won first team all conference for three years in a row. Others on the golf team included Josh Bohn, Jacob Eichline, Brad Halverson, Erik Hanschke, Mitchell Mallouk, Logan Naumann, Ryan Rausch, Connor Tanel, and Seth Ullsperger.


Volleyball state champs coach by Deb Butschlick and assistant Jason Stasinopoulos

Paige Airaudi, Kayla Boehm, Audra Brandenburg, Sammie Brown, Breanna Cronin, Caryn Hamm, Morgan Kaplar, Carolyn Kuzmic, Kayla Schommer, Catherine Tucker.


Jacob Schmick coach of men’s and women’s basketball.

Daniel Britton, David Britton, Skylar Crass, Miles Perkins, Ross Riegleman, Brendan Serrano, Vincent Skowera, Ross Waddell, and Michael Wallace.

Paige Airaudi, Brianna Beilfuss, Kayla Boehm, Audra Brandenburg, Sammie Brown, Caryn Hamm, and Meghan MacFarlane.

Women’s tennis coached by Deb Butschlick.  Paige Airaudi, Kayla Boehm, Sammie Brown, Ariahna Grossenbacher, Caryn Hamm, and Meghan MacFarlane.

Men’s tennis coached by Roger Peterson.  Daniel Britton, David Britton, Brody Jossart, Matthew Melsheimer, Nathan Melsheimer and Seth Wordell.

All conference academic awards from the Wisconsin Collegiate Conference: minimum 3.5 GPA – Josh Behm, Rihanna Cronin, Brad Halverson, Morgan Kappler and Antonio Pusateri.

3.0 GPA – Alex Fischer, Jacob Prika, Matthew Melsheimer, Nathan Melsheimer,

After three semesters 3.0 GPA – Alex Fisher, Audra Brandenburg, Meghan MacFarlane, Matt Melsheimer, Antonio Pusateri, Ryan Rausch, Connor Tanel , Catherine Tucker


Add Your Comment

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :
%d bloggers like this: