72.6 F
West Bend

Hartford Union High School musical nominated for 17 Wisconsin Jerry Awards | By Katrina Cravy

Hartford, WI – The Hartford Union High School musical production, “Once Upon A Mattress,” has been nominated for seventeen Wisconsin Jerry Awards, including Outstanding Musical and Outstanding Ensemble for the entire production.
Annie Nettesheim, right

Click HERE to SUBSCRIBE to FREE local news at
Washington County Insider on YouTube

“We are grateful and awestruck to find out our production was nominated for a whopping 17 Jerry Awards in Wisconsin,” said Production Co-Director Dani Kuepper.

HUHS Choral and Music Educator Ernie Brusubardis said, “Each nomination is a testament to the hard work, talent, and passion our students pour into every performance for our audience. This is a celebration for our entire community.”

This is the first time the HUHS Pit Orchestra has been nominated, contributing to the most nominations Hartford has ever received.

Amaiah Brakob

According to its website, “The Jerry Awards is one of Wisconsin’s High School Musical Awards Programs which recognizes and honors excellence in high school musical theater. Educators and industry professionals review productions at more than 85 high schools in 30 counties around the state providing valuable feedback. The program elevates the importance of musical theater within high schools.”

The musical “Once Upon a Mattress” is a revitalized version of the timeless fairy tale, “The Princess and the Pea.”

The production played at the Schauer Art Center in Hartford from November 11 to November 18, 2023.
(Please see nomination list below)

Lukas Lichtenwalner

The 17 Jerry Nominations for Hartford’s production of “Once Upon a Mattress’ encompass both production and individual categories and include:
● Production Nominations: Outstanding Musical, Outstanding Ensemble, Outstanding Orchestra
● Individual Nominations: Outstanding Lead Performances by Maddy Adams (Princess Winnifred), Brady Senkbeil (Prince Dauntless), Annie Nettesheim (Queen Aggravain), Lukas Lichtenwalner (The Minstrel), Gaby George (The Jester), Audra Schaefer (Lady Larken) and Amiah Brakob for Outstanding Dance Performance (Jester Dance Solo)

Maddie Adams

● Outstanding Directions by Dani Kuepper & Mel Kaiser
● Outstanding Musical Directions by Ernest Brusubardis
● Outstanding Choreography by Dani Kuepper & Mel Kaiser

Pit Crew

● Outstanding Scenic Design by Colleen & Rob Boelkow
● Outstanding Lighting Design by Dana Klieman
● Outstanding Costume, Wig/Hair, and Make-up Design by Mary Lou Stelter, Sandy Wallisch, & Sue Steldt
● Outstanding Sound Design by Zach Szalay

The Jerry Award winners will be announced in June.
Photo Credits: Dynamic Light Photography

Leave a Reply

Work or the content on WashingtonCountyInsider.com cannot be downloaded, printed, or copied. The work or content on WashingtonCountyInsider.com prohibits the end user to download, print, or otherwise distribute copies.


FREE local news at Washington County Insider on YouTube

Related Articles