78.1 F
West Bend

MOWA’s 2024 Wisconsin Visual Art Achievement Awards are April 14, 2024

West Bend, WIMuseum of Wisconsin Art (MOWA) announces the recipients of the 2024 Wisconsin Visual Art Achievement Award (WVAAA). Recognizing significant contributions to the visual arts of the state, the Achievement Awards are presented biennially to individuals and organizations. The awards ceremony will be held on Sunday, April 14, 1 p.m. – 3 p.m. (awards at 2 p.m.) at the Museum of Wisconsin Art in West Bend.
The 2024 Wisconsin Visual Art Achievement Awards are awarded biennially to honor individuals and organizations that are enriching the visual arts of the state.

Click HERE to SUBSCRIBE to FREE local news at
Washington County Insider on YouTube  

The three founding organizations—the Museum of Wisconsin Art, the Wisconsin Visual Artists, and the Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts, and Letters—collaborate biennially to recognize exceptional educators, writers, visual artists, exhibitions, and advocates in our creative communities. A 10-person nominations committee convenes to review open nominations and select the recipients in seven categories.
2024 Award Categories and the Honorees:
Legacy Awards
Carol Emmons and Tory Folliard
Educator Award (K–12)
Daniel Klewer
Educator Awards (College/University)
Kristy Deetz
Arts Writing Award
Tom Lidtke and Annemarie Sawkins, for A Creative Place: The History of Wisconsin Art
Tom Lidtke began his career teaching K-12 studio art classes in Wisconsin and South Australia. Lidtke attended the University of Wisconsin–Madison, receiving his undergraduate in Art History. In 1982, he was hired as an Assistant Director at the West Bend Gallery of Fine Arts (later known as the Museum of Wisconsin Art).
Shortly thereafter he became the museum’s director and held that position for three decades, retiring upon the completion of MOWA’s new building in 2013. A practicing artist, Lidtke’s bronze sculptures and earthworks are in several private, corporate, and museum collections, including the Milwaukee Art Museum.
After retirement, Lidtke was commissioned by the Cedarburg Art Museum to undertake an ambitious five-year project to produce a comprehensive book of Wisconsin’s art history.
Co-authored by Annemarie Sawkins, A Creative Place: The History of Wisconsin Art was
published in 2021 and is considered the most important single publication on the history of Wisconsin Art.
Exhibition Awards
Portrait Society Gallery for Art Against the Odds: Wisconsin Prison Art (2023), co-curated by PSG Director Debra Brehmer and Gallery Manager, Paul Salsieder in collaboration with Wisconsin’s incarcerated artists.

Museum of Wisconsin Art for Legends of Drag: Portraits by Harry James Hanson and Devin Antheus (2022), curated by Assistant Curator Ally Wilber in collaboration with artists Harry James Hanson, Devin Antheus, and America’s legendary drag queens

Community Arts Advocate Award
David Wells
Emerging Artist Award
Phoenix Brown
The 2024 nominations committee included Pat Frederick, Elizabeth Meissner-Gigstead, Amy Moorefield, Rafael Salas, Fred Stonehouse, Christine Styles, and Della Wells, as well as Jody Clowes, Ally Wilber, and Laurie Winters.
Recipient bios follow. Previous winners include Jack Damer, Freida High Wasikhongo Tesfagiorgis, Frank Juárez, Karin Wolf, Rae Minoka Skenandore (Yehsani>saks), Debra Brehmer, Leslie Vansen, and the John Michael Kohler Art Preserve.
The WVAAA is made possible through the generous support of the Museum of Wisconsin Art, all three chapters of the Wisconsin Visual Artists, and Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Art & Letters.
American Commercial Real Estate

Leave a Reply

Work or the content on WashingtonCountyInsider.com cannot be downloaded, printed, or copied. The work or content on WashingtonCountyInsider.com prohibits the end user to download, print, or otherwise distribute copies.


FREE local news at Washington County Insider on YouTube

Related Articles