78.9 F
West Bend

New signage in place at UWM at Washington County


August 31, 2018 – Washington Co., WI – New signage is in place in West Bend as UW-Washington County changes over to UW-Milwaukee at Washington County.

Earlier this month the University of Wisconsin System Board of Regents approved new names for UW-Milwaukee’s new two-year campuses.

The former University of Wisconsin-Washington County and University of Wisconsin-Waukesha are now University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee at Washington County and University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee at Waukesha.

UWM at Washington County and UWM at Waukesha are acceptable for second reference.

The campuses serving freshmen and sophomores became part of UWM on July 1. UW System President Ray Cross announced the restructuring of the former UW Colleges last year.

New names for the campuses had to meet UW System guidelines and required approval from county officials, as well as student and community representatives, before presentation to the Board of Regents.

UWM Chancellor Mark Mone, stated, “The addition of Waukesha and Washington County campuses to UW-Milwaukee is positive for students and the community. We will continue to provide access to high-quality academic programs, while also delivering a seamless transfer to a four-year degree. In addition, we’ll offer more academic and internship options for students, while addressing local needs and strengthening partnerships in our region and throughout Wisconsin.”


Leave a Reply

Related Articles

%d bloggers like this: