68.1 F
West Bend

Cedar Community establishes Carl Ziegler endowed scholarship fund

West Bend, WI – Cedar Community, 5595 Hwy Z, West Bend, WI, recently established the Carl Ziegler Endowed Scholarship Fund with a generous gift from Prof. Carl Ziegler’s estate. Ziegler was a devoted and celebrated educator serving generations of students during his tenure at Indiana University-Bloomington.
Photo: Back Row left to right: Cedar Community President and Chief Executive Officer Nicole Pretre, Kelly Schloemer, Ben Schloemer, Joe Ludke, Brooke Gruen, Isabelle Gross Front Row left to right: Esteve Redolad, Carl Ziegler (photo), Jordan Vogel, Rachel Anderson Photo credit: Cedar Community

Click HERE to SUBSCRIBE to FREE local news at
Washington County Insider on YouTube

With deep roots in the West Bend and Washington County communities, Ziegler carried on his family’s legacy of philanthropic support for organizations serving our community. He was a supporter of Cedar Community for many years, giving generous gifts of time and talents on campus development projects, as a faithful donor, and member of the board of directors. With the guidance of his estate’s trustee and family relative, Ben Schloemer, the Carl Ziegler Endowed Scholarship Fund was established to support Cedar Community team members in their educational and professional development pursuits.

Cedar Community’s Chief Administrative Officer Sarah Malchow worked closely with Ben Schloemer to shape the parameters of the endowed scholarship fund and establish the annual scholarship program and process. “Carl’s commitment to Cedar Community was and is inspiring. I am grateful to have had the opportunity to know him and feel fortunate that we are able to honor his legacy in such a way—he would be proud.”

The scholarship fund supports Cedar Community undergraduate student team members who are continuing their education at an accredited four-year or technical college institution. Additional scholarships support team members who are pursuing professional development, continuing education, or graduate degree certification. The fund established eight scholarships: two undergraduate degree scholarships of $5,000 each; four technical college scholarships of $2,500 each; and two scholarships supporting team members engaged in professional development or advanced degree-seeking. Qualifying candidates must demonstrate an exemplary work ethic and commitment of compassion and service to their colleagues and residents, should model servant leadership qualities, and previously attained strong academic achievement.

The application process was opened to Cedar Community team members employed with the organization for at least twelve months. The formal process included a written essay, documented academic performance in the prior year, letters of recommendation, and an interview with a selection committee that included Cedar Community President and Chief Executive Officer Nicole Pretre.

“I was very impressed not only with the care that went into establishing a variety of meaningful scholarship opportunities but also with the thoughtfulness of the process and the incredible strength of the candidates. Nicole and Sarah did a wonderful job of bringing this together in an impactful way,” Schloemer said. “I learned a lot about the complexities of senior healthcare and also about how much these individuals truly care for the residents they serve. These were tough decisions. The applicants were all deserving.”

Winners of the undergraduate scholarships are:

Jordan Vogel: Jordan will be a junior at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee and is majoring in health services management with minors in both finance and leadership.

Brooke Gruen: Brooke will be a freshman at the University of Wisconsin-LaCrosse and intends to major in healthcare administration.


Winners of the technical college scholarships are:

Rachel Anderson: A student at Moraine Park Technical College, Rachel is interested in persuing a licensend practical nurse degree.

Isabelle Gross: Isabelle is currently studying at Moraine Park Technical College with the intent to earn a Bachelor of Science in nursing at a local university.

*(not pictured) Aubrey Magray: Aubrey is pursuing certification as an electrocardiogram technician at Milwaukee Area Technical College.

*(not pictured) Isabelle Stuebing: Issy is pursuing a respiratory therapy certification at Milwaukee Area Technical College.

Winners of the professional development scholarships – up to $5,000 each

Joseph Luedke: Joe is a member of the life enrichment and wellbeing teams. His goal is to continue to grow his skills in the area of kinesiology.

Esteve Redolad: Esteve is a member of the spiritual care team. After 25 years in pastoral ministry, he is pursuing additional clinical experience.

Leave a Reply

Work or the content on WashingtonCountyInsider.com cannot be downloaded, printed, or copied. The work or content on WashingtonCountyInsider.com prohibits the end user to download, print, or otherwise distribute copies.


FREE local news at Washington County Insider on YouTube

Related Articles