According to the Wisconsin Department of Motor Vehicles, it will be illegal to talk on a handheld mobile device while driving in a Wisconsin road work zone as of October 1, 2016.
“The law is part of ongoing efforts to reduce distracted driving and increase safety for motorists and workers throughout the state. Drivers caught in violation face fines of up to $40 on first offense and $100 for subsequent offenses. Following the law is simple. Just remember: Orange cones – Put down the phones!”