84.8 F
West Bend

Non-candidacy papers submitted a day before deadline in West Bend School District

Washington Co., WI – Several incumbents in school districts across Washington County have submitted notifications of non-candidacy for the April 2024 election; the deadline to file non-candidacy is Friday, December 22, 2023.

West Bend papers

In the West Bend School District incumbent Kurt Rebholz turned in non-candidacy papers on Thursday, December 21, 2023, according to superintendent Jen Wimmer.

There are 2 seats up for election in April 2024. Chris Zwygart is the other incumbent whose term is up for election. Calls have been placed to Zwygart to see if he will run for a third term. This story will be updated when information is received.

According to the District: A Campaign Registration Statement and a Declaration of Candidacy, must be filed no later than 5 p.m., on Tuesday, January 2, 2024, in the office of the school district clerk at the Education Service Center located at 735 S. Main Street, West Bend, WI 53095.

The Education Service Center will be open from 7:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m. on December 27 and December 28, and closed the remainder of that week for the holiday break. The office will reopen Tuesday, January 2, 2024, from 7:30 a.m. until 5 p.m. to receive submissions. Contact Peggy Schmidt with any questions at 262-335-5435.

The newly elected Board will be tasked with the possible implementation of the results of the Long-Range Facilities Plan that is currently being developed.  Such implementation may include Board actions on presenting a building referendum to the electors at the November 5, 2024, Election. The decision may be made in May.

Below is a preview of some of the races on tap for 2024 along with other non-candidacy filings.

Germantown School District

Germantown School Board has 2 seats up for election.

Click HERE for more information in the Germantown School District.

Murphy & Prachthauser

Hartford Union High School

Hartford Union High School has 2 seats up for election.

Ross Kirley and James Gumm are up for election in April 2024, and both have filed non-candidacy papers.

There will be 2 open seats on the April 2024 ballot. Each seat carries a term of 3 years.

Click HERE to find information in a candidate packet.

Hartford Joint No. 1 School District has 2 seats up for election.

Three-Year Terms available in the 2024 Spring Election: Ed Behnke & Greg Erickson

Erickson has already filed notice of non-candidacy.

Click HERE for more information on the Hartford Joint No. 1 School District

Slinger School DistrictSlinger School District has 2 seats up for election.

School Board president Ken Strupp and school board clerk Cherie Rhodes have both indicated they will be running again.

Papers must be submitted no later than Tuesday, January 2, 2024, to be on the April 2024 ballot.

The Slinger School District consists of seven board members elected to three-year terms.

Click HERE for more information on the Slinger School Board.

Kewaskum School District

Kewaskum School Board has 2 seats up for election in April 2024.

Ric Leitheiser and Jim Leister were elected to 3-year terms in April 2021.

Click HERE for more information in the Kewaskum School District.

December 22, 2023 (by 5pm) incumbents submit Notification of Noncandidacy (if applicable)
January 2, 2024 (by 5pm) candidates submit CF-1L Local Candidate Registration Statement
January 2, 2024 (by 5pm) candidates submit EL-162sd Declaration of Candidacy



City of Hartford has three alderpersons up for reelection in April.

Each of the three districts has one incumbent up for reelection; however, District 2 alderman Doug Carroll has already filed non-candidacy papers.

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that at an election to be held in the City of Hartford, on Tuesday, April 2, 2024, the following officers are to be elected to succeed the present incumbents listed.   The term for Alderpersons begins Tuesday, April 16, 2024.

Office                                                Incumbent                  Term

Alderperson, District One                   Joe Kohler                    3 years

Alderperson, District Two                  Doug Carroll                  3 years

Alderperson, District Three                Tony Garza                    3 years

Information concerning aldermanic district boundaries may be obtained from the City Clerk, 109 N Main St., Hartford, WI  53027.

NOTICE IS FURTHER GIVEN that the first day to circulate nomination papers is Friday, December 1, 2023, and the final day for filing nomination papers is 5 p.m. on Tuesday, January 2, 2024, in the office of the City Clerk.  Nomination papers are available in the City Clerk’s office.

NOTICE IS FURTHER GIVEN that if a primary election is necessary, the primary will be held on Tuesday, February 20, 2024.

Acceptable Photo ID will be required to vote at this election.  If you do not have a photo ID you may obtain a free ID for voting from the Division of Motor Vehicles.

City of West Bend has 4 aldermanic seats up for election in April 2024.

Odd-numbered seats are up for Dist. 1 John Butschlick, Dist. 3 Brett Bergquist, Dist. 5 Jed Dolnick, and Dist. 7 Justice Madl.

Dolnick has already indicated he will not be seeking another term.

Vinny Pheng has already indicated he will be turning in papers for District 5.

Click HERE for more information.


This is a working story, and more information will be posted as details become available.

Still working on Village and Town races along with Erin and Richfield School Districts.


Leave a Reply

Work or the content on WashingtonCountyInsider.com cannot be downloaded, printed, or copied. The work or content on WashingtonCountyInsider.com prohibits the end user to download, print, or otherwise distribute copies.


FREE local news at Washington County Insider on YouTube

Related Articles