60.9 F
West Bend

Nomination papers due Tuesday, January 4 for the April 5, 2022, Spring Election

January 4, 2021 – Washington Co., WI – Tuesday, April 5, 2022, is the Spring Election Day in Wisconsin. Nomination papers are now circulating for the Spring Election; the final day for filing nomination papers is 5 p.m. on Tuesday, January 4, 2022. Obtain nomination papers at your local municipality clerk’s office.

election, vote, poll, ballot


Acceptable Photo ID will be required to vote at this election.  If you do not have a photo ID you may obtain a free ID for voting from the Division of Motor Vehicles.

Note: Not every municipality will be holding an election that day. Please check with your local clerk’s office if you need more information.

Below are some updates on papers filed and upcoming contests on April 5, 2022.

Washington County Board – Washington County Board supervisory districts will be reduced from 26 to 21. All supervisory seats are up for election on April 5, 2022.

Dist. 1 supervisor Kris Deiss announced on WashingtonCountyInsider.com she is not seeking reelection. Dist. 14 supervisor Don Kriefall also announced he will not be seeking another term and Dist. 4 supervisor Randy Marquardt announced he too will not seek reelection.

A couple bullet point:

  • As of December 29, 2021 there were four contested supervisory races ahead for Washington County on April 5, 2022.
  • As of December 29, 2021 there were four candidates who currently hold elected office who are running for County Supervisor including Hartford Mayor Tim Michalak, Jackson Village President Michael Schwab, Town of Farmington Chairman Doug Neumann, and Town of Trenton Chairman Joe Gonnering.

supervisor districts

Click HERE to look at the new redistricting map.


CITY OF WEST BEND – Aldermanic districts 1, 3, 5 and 7 (odd-numbered districts) will be up for re-election.

Current incumbents have filed appropriate signatures:

District 1: John Butschlick
District 3: Brett Bergquist
District 5: Jed Dolnick
District 7: Justice Madl

On Monday, January 3, 2022 James Knepler filed signatures to run in District 5. Knepler has run for office in the past; in 2014 he faced off against Rich Kasten for District 5 alderman. Kasten secured the win.

West Bend School Board:
Two seats are up for election:  Incumbent Paul Fischer filed to run along with John Donaldson and Melanie Ehrgott. Still checking on incumbent Erin Dove.


VILLAGE OF GERMANTOWN – There is one seat on the Spring Election April 2022 ballot for the Village of Germantown.

Three Germantown school board seats are up for election:

At-large, Seat 2, incumbent Ray Borden
At-large, Seat 4, incumbent Brian Medved
At-large, Seat 6, incumbent Michael Loth

VILLAGE OF JACKSON – April 5, 20022 Spring Election has been posted. Three Village Trustee positions elected to 2-year terms will be on the ballot:

Brian Heckendorf
John Kruepke
Traci Wells

CITY OF HARTFORD – NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that at an election to be held in the City of Hartford, on Tuesday, April 5, 2022, the following officers are to be elected to succeed the present incumbents listed.  The term for Mayor and Alderpersons begins on Tuesday, April 19, 2022.

Mayor Timothy Michalak 3 YEARS
Alderperson, District 1 Joseph Fulop 3 YEARS
Alderperson, District 2 Wayne Rusniak 3 YEARS
Alderperson, District 3 Justin Webb 3 YEARS


Information concerning aldermanic district boundaries may be obtained from the City Clerk, 109 N Main St., Hartford, WI  53027.

There are two seats up for election on the Hartford School Board:

3-year term, incumbent Craig Westfall
3-year term, incumbent Tina Pridemore has submitted papers.

VILLAGE OF RICHFIELD – All Village of Richfield electors will be voting at Northbrook Church, located at 4014 Highway 167 (Holy Hill Road) Richfield, WI for local, state and federal elections. For additional questions, please contact the Village Deputy Clerk Donna Cox at (262) 628-2260 extension 111.

There are two trustee seats up for election to 2-year terms:

Dan Neu
Bill Collins

Note: The winner’s term begins April 19, 2022.

Two seats are up for election on the Holy Hill Area School Board:

School Board Member – At Large Stephanie Bunton (At Large)
School Board Member – At Large Chad Gartzke (At Large)

VILLAGE OF SLINGER – Three trustee seats are up for election to 2-year terms:

Jeff Behrend
Lee Fredericks
Marlyss Thiel

Three school board seats are up for election:

Incumbent Gary Feltz
Incumbent Joseph Havey
Incumbent Roman Weninger

All three incumbents have filed along with Bill Brewer.

VILLAGE OF KEWASKUM – Interested candidates for Village Trustee (vacated by Kevin Scheunemann) have begun circulating nomination papers for the 2022 Spring Election.

Three trustee seats are up for election to a 2-year term including:

Nathan Wendelborn
Richard Knoebel
Richard Laubach

There are two seats up for election for the Kewaskum School Board: Both incumbents have completed appropriate paperwork and filed to run again in April 2022. Each seat carries a 3-year term.

School Board Members Timothy Ramthun, and Bradley Petersen, both filed papers to run again.

The Village of Kewaskum has one polling location, the Municipal Building Community Room, 204 First Street.


Town of Erin – An election is to be held in the Town of Erin on Tuesday, April 5, 2022. The following offices are to be elected to succeed the present incumbents listed:

Office                                         Incumbent

Town Supervisor                            Jeff Millikin
Town Supervisor                            Maripat Blankenheim

The term for all offices is for two years beginning on Tuesday, April 19, 2022.

This is a working story, and more information will be added when details become available.

collett systems

Leave a Reply

Work or the content on WashingtonCountyInsider.com cannot be downloaded, printed, or copied. The work or content on WashingtonCountyInsider.com prohibits the end user to download, print, or otherwise distribute copies.


FREE local news at Washington County Insider on YouTube

Related Articles